For Your Study Abroad: +234 802 942 3312

Fully Funded Commonwealth Scholarship For Nigerian students at University of Oxford

The 2018 Oxford Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme is now open for applications. The scholarship is a joint initiative between the UK Department for International Development (DFID) and the University of Oxford to support students from developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the United Kingdom.

A number of scholarships are available for applicants who are nationals of developing Commonwealth countries and who are applying to a range of 1-year master’s courses to be confirmed.

Worth of Award

  • The scholarship covers course fees, college fees and a grant for living costs of at least £12,780.

  • Awards are made for the full duration of your fee liability for the agreed course. The scholarship is jointly funded by the University and the UK Department for International Development.

  • It supports students from developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the United Kingdom.

  • The continuation of your scholarship each year is subject to an annual renewal process based on satisfactory academic progress.


General Eligibility Criteria

Candidates should:

  • hold a first degree at either first or upper second class level
  • be applying to start a new graduate course at Oxford
  • have not previously studied for one year or more in a developed country
  • not be employed by a government department (at the national level) or a parastatal organisation (employees of universities are normally acceptable, however)
  • be able to confirm in writing that neither they or their families would otherwise be able to pay for the proposed course of study
  • be willing to confirm that they will return to their home country as soon as their period of study is complete
  • Awards are only available for one-year Masters in specific subject areas. Details of subject areas will be available on their webpage but African Studies is definitely eligible.
  • You must not be at present living or studying in a developed country and must not have studied or worked for one academic year or more in a developed country.
  • You must also be willing to confirm in writing that neither you nor your family, are able to pay for you to study in the UK. Additionally, you must be willing to return to your home country as soon as your award comes to an end (the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission will only consider requests to extend leave to remain in the UK post-award for those wishing to progress from masters to PhD study and strict conditions will apply).

Eligible Countries

Awards are open to students from Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Cameroon, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn, Rwanda, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tristan da Cunha, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Western Samoa Zambia, Zimbabwe.

How to Apply

  • Apply at the same time as you apply to Oxford by selecting Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme in the Funding Section of the University’s Graduate Application Form.
  • In order to be considered for this scholarship, you must submit your application for graduate study by the relevant January deadline and you must have secured a place on your chosen programme of study by the expected final decision date. Applications with an outstanding admissions decision after this date, or applications which are re-evaluated against the later March deadline field are not eligible for scholarship consideration.
  • If you meet initial eligibility criteria, you will also be asked to complete an application form produced by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission.


Deadline: (January 8, 2016 for Medical Sciences and Philosophy; January 22, 2016 for all other courses including African Studies). If you do not apply in full by the deadline, you will not be considered for the scholarship, even if you have selected Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme on the Graduate Application Form.

Selection is expected to take place in June 2018. Please see the Standard scholarship selection terms for more information about the application and selection process.

To begin your Oxford application, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *